

Annette Summers, Executive Director Women in Aerospace 202-547-0229

Release: WIA-0906

November 20, 2009

# WOMEN IN AEROSPACE ANNOUNCES OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR 2010

Washington, DC -- Women in Aerospace (WIA) is pleased to announce the election of its 2010 board of directors and officers.

# The 2010 WIA Board leaders are:

- Chair of the Board: Cindy Malawy, The Boeing Company
- Vice Chair of the Board: Sandy Coleman, ATK Washington Operations
- Finance Chair: Bill Gail, Microsoft

# The newly elected board members, serving a 3-year term of 2010-2012 are:

- Katherine Chambers, Principal, NRO Space, Booz Allen Hamilton
- Patricia Hynes, Ph. D., Director New Mexico Space Grant Consortium, NASA EPSCoR, and International Symposium for Personal and Commercial Spaceflight (ISPCS) Chair.
- Janet Karika, Jacobs Technology Inc, Director of Interagency Launch Programs, NASA Launch Services Program
- William Klanke, Vice President & General Manager, Space News
- Lillian Ryals, Director, System Operations, Safety & Performance, The MITRE Corporation
- Dianne Sosa, Business Development Director for Civil Programs, Lockheed Martin Corporation
- Charlene A. Wheeless, Vice President, Communications and Site Executive, Raytheon Intelligence and Information
  Systems

This distinguished line-up joins WIA's returning board members: Deborah Alderson, SAIC; Debra Facktor Lepore, DFL Space LLC, Lika Guhathakurta, NASA; Suzanne Jenniches, Northrop Grumman Corporation; Kay Sears, Intelsat General; John Tylko, Aurora Flight Sciences; and Bruce Wald, ITT. Ex-officio members are: Daryle Lademan, The Avascent Group, and Merrie Scott, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

### The newly elected 2010 Officers are:

- President: Daryle Lademan, The Avascent Group
- President-Elect: Samantha Segall, SAIC
- Vice President of Communications: Daphne Dador, Aerospace Industries Association
- Vice President of Membership: Militza Konova, The Avascent Group
- Treasurer: Madeline Close, The Boeing Company

They join the solid foundation of officers still serving out their terms: Vice President for Programs: Sara Fuentes, ATK; Vice President for Professional Development: Carol Aragon-Smith, The Boeing Company; Secretary: Stephanie Schierholz, NASA.

Women in Aerospace (WIA) is dedicated to expanding women's opportunities for leadership and increasing their visibility in the aerospace community. Our membership — women and men — shares an interest in a broad spectrum of aerospace issues, including human space flight, aviation, remote sensing, satellite communications, robotic space exploration, and the policy issues surrounding these fields. To learn more, visit us at:

### www.womeninaerospace.org