Skip Navigation


Tickets are Selling Fast!

Register Today for the 30th Annual Women in Aerospace Awards Ceremony and Banquet


The Women in Aerospace Awards Ceremony and Banquet is an annual event dedicated to celebrating women's professional excellence in aerospace. On Thursday, October 22, 2015, industry and government leaders, volunteers and the media will gather for the 30th Annual Awards Ceremony and Banquet at the Ritz Carlton, Pentagon City in Arlington, Virginia to honor the achievements of several accomplished aerospace professionals. We are expecting our biggest attendance to date as we celebrate our 30th anniversary!



Thursday, October 22, 2015


Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
1250 S. Hayes Street
Arlington, VA



Cocktail Reception 5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Banquet & Awards 6:30 - 9:00 p.m.
Dress: Business


WIA Members: $175.00
Non-Members: $225.00


Ticket sales are strong and we are planning to sell out fast. We have received a record amount of RSVPs from our government guests and are expecting even more to attend. Table sales have also reached an all-time high. WIA’s members are excited to honor our past presidents and past chairs for years of dedication and hardwork that have made WIA the successful organization it is today.


If you want to be a part of a 30-year tradition and are interested in becoming a sponsor for this year’s Awards Ceremony & Banquet, please click here for more information or contact us at We only hope that all of our companies get a chance to purchase tables before tickets sell out.

This year our awardees represent a wide array of incredibly talented women that have made noteable contributions to the aerospace community. The 2015 award recipients are as follows:


Aerospace Awareness Award – Cynthia Hugh Sam, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Outstanding Achievement Award –Elizabeth Lund, the Boeing Company

Aerospace Educator Award –Dr. Penina Axelrad, the University of Colorado, Boulder

Initiative, Inspiration, Impact Award –Margaret Viola, the Spaceship Company, LLC

Leadership Award –Dr. Lisa Hardaway, Ball Aerospace

Lifetime Achievement Award –Sandra Coleman, Orbital ATK

WIA 30th Anniversary Commemorative Award –Carla Thomas, NASA Armstrong Arcata

WIA 30th Anniversary Commemorative Award –Kathleen Fredette, iLEAD Schools


The Annual WIA Foundation Scholarships will also be presented. The scholarships, funded by the WIA Foundation, are designed to encourage young women interested in a career in the aerospace field, pursue higher education degrees in engineering, science, or math. The following students are the 2015-2016 WIA Foundation Scholars:


Amanda Martin, Professional Aeronautics student at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Maggie Thompson, Astrophysics student at Princeton University

Rose Weinstein, Aerospace Engineering student at the University of Maryland-College Park


The Awards Ceremony is WIA’s premier event of the year, honoring women whose outstanding contributions to the aerospace community are legendary and who have shown dedication and commitment to WIA’s mission: expanding women’s opportunities for leadership and increasing their visibility in the aerospace community. Don’t be left out of this momentus occasion. Register today! Click here for more information about purchasing tickets. 


Special Thanks to our Sponsors