Skip Navigation

Annette Summers
Executive Director

September 8, 2017


Washington, D.C. – Women in Aerospace (WIA), a leading professional organization dedicated to expanding women’s opportunities for leadership, education and visibility in the aerospace community, is proud to recognize six distinguished women for their contributions to the aerospace industry and to the advancement of women in the field. These women will be honored at the 32nd Annual WIA Awards Dinner and Ceremony with a reception and dinner to be held on Thursday, October 19, 2017 at the Ritz Carlton Pentagon City Hotel in Arlington, VA.

The WIA Awards celebrate women’s professional excellence in aerospace, annually recognizing female leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the aerospace community.

The 2017 Women in Aerospace Award recipients are:

ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Joan Robinson-Berry, Boeing, Charleston, SC, for her excellent leadership and sustained dedication to aerospace education and for her tenacious advocacy for girls and young women in aerospace.

AEROSPACE AWARENESS AWARD: Robyn N. Gordon, NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, OH, in recognition of her exemplary service in providing outstanding educational and outreach awareness to the American public of NASA’s contribution to aeronautics, space research, and technology.

AEROSPACE EDUCATOR AWARD: Barbara Gordon, U.S. Naval Test Pilot School, Patuxent River, MD, for her exceptional performance as a Flight and Classroom Instructor and Safety Officer and for being an effective and compassionate leader and mentor.

INITIATIVE, INSPIRATION, IMPACT AWARD: Emily Stump, Naval Air Systems Command, Patuxent River, MD, for her exemplary dedication and noteworthy contributions to NAVAIR Multi-Mission Helicopter Program Office Test and Evaluation.

LEADERSHIP AWARD: Dr. Dava Newman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, in recognition of her inspiring public service during her tenure at NASA as a champion for diversity, a focal point for innovation, a visionary for space exploration, and as a role model for all.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Astronaut Dr. Peggy Whitson, NASA, Houston, TX, in honor of her record-breaking career and breaking down barriers for women as the first female commander of the International Space Station on two NASA missions.

Shelli Brunswick, Chair of Women in Aerospace, said: “Candidates for these awards are nominated by a peer and undergo vigorous vetting. This year, over 50 women were nominated across the six award categories. Each of these women serve as an inspiration to our community and this year we are so honored to recognize Dr. Peggy Whitson with our most prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award. Throughout her record-breaking aerospace career and 28 years at NASA, she has served as a striking example for everyone to define their own destiny, without limits from background, gender or age. She has no limits.”

As part of the Awards Ceremony, the Women in Aerospace Foundation will also present four merit-based scholarships to promising young women who will serve as the next generation of female leaders in the aerospace industry.

This year’s scholarships go to:

McKenna Davis, Rhodes College
Julia Di, Columbia University - School of Engineering & Applied Science
Karen Elizabeth Rucker, Texas Tech University
Irina Vatamanu, Harvard University

Women in Aerospace (WIA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to expanding women’s opportunities for leadership and to increasing their visibility within the aerospace community. To learn more about WIA, visit:

Individuals and organizations interested in participating in the awards dinner on October 19, 2017, at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Arlington VA, should register online at or by calling 202-547-0229 for more information.

WIA anticipates selling out tables for this event and encourages interested parties to purchase tables early to be sure space is available. Sponsorship opportunities also available. Register Here.

For more information, visit the WIA website at
or call our Headquarters at (202) 547-0229.


PDF Press Release Announcement of 2017 Awards Winners (151 K)