Skip Navigation


September 19, 2013

Contact: Susan Chodakewitz





Sept. 19, 2013-Washington, D.C.-Women in Aerospace is proud to recognize nine outstanding women for their contributions to the aerospace industry and to the advancement of women in the field. These women will be honored at the 28th annual Women in Aerospace Awards Dinner and Ceremony with a reception and dinner. The event will be held on October 29, 2013 at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Arlington, VA.


The Women in Aerospace awards celebrate women's professional excellence in aerospace, annually recognizing female leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the aerospace community. The 2013 recipients are:


AEROSPACE AWARENESS AWARD: Michelle Thaller, Assistant Director of Science for Communications, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Maryland, for bringing NASA Science to life in the public eye by creating a breakthrough outreach program using TV, conferences and social media to get the scientists' message out to the world.


OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Molly Brown, AST, Earth Science Remote Sensing, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Maryland, for her continued work in bringing critical information to the U.S. Government in the area of remote sensing and as an expert on impact of environmental dynamics on food security.


AEROSPACE EDUCATOR AWARD: Julie Burr, Coordinator for Work Based Learning and Career Readiness, Aviation High School, Burlen, Washington, for her innovations in connecting students with real-world aerospace experience and mentorship, and her dedication to the next generation of STEM professionals.


INITIATIVE, INSPIRATION, IMPACT AWARD: Kristin Rozier, Research Scientist, NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, California, for exemplary achievement of formal specification, verification and validation of a Next Gen air traffic control system candidate and for dedication as a mentor and role model.


LEADERSHIP AWARD: Catherine Steele, Vice President, Strategic Space Operations, The Aerospace Corporation, Colorado Springs, Colorado, is recognized as an exceptional role model and unparalleled leader, having made significant contributions to the aerospace field.


LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Jean Chamberlin, Vice President of Program Management, Boeing Defense, Space & Security, Tukwila, Washington, in recognition of her outstanding career and lifelong commitment to furthering the advancement of women's opportunities in aerospace.


OUTSTANDING MEMBER AWARD: Sandy Coleman, Director, NASA Exploration Program, ATK Washington Operations, Arlington, Virginia, in recognition of her outstanding leadership, focus and dedication to WIA's vision, goals and members. Her contribution is a pillar of WIA's success and growth.


WIA FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIPS: Erin M. Kirchmeier, a junior in aerospace engineering sciences at Missouri University of Science and Technology (S&T) and Samantha B. Rawlins, a junior in mechanical engineering at California State University, Los Angeles will receive a $2,000 scholarship to be applied to the 2013-2014 academic year.


Women in Aerospace (WIA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to expanding women's opportunities for leadership and to increasing their visibility within the aerospace community.


Individuals and organizations interested in participating in the awards dinner on October 29, 2013, at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Arlington VA, should register online at or by calling 202-547-0229 for more information.





Women in Aerospace (WIA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to expanding women's  

opportunities for leadership and to increasing their visibility within the aerospace community. 

To learn more about WIA, visit: