Skip Navigation

Daphne C. Dador
Vice President for Communications
Women in Aerospace
(202) 358-0438                               

Release: WIA-10-06                                                

November 23, 2010 




Washington, D.C. -- Women in Aerospace (WIA) is pleased to announce the election of its 2011
board of directors and officers.

The 2011 WIA board leaders are:
  • Chair of the Board:  Sandy Coleman, ATK Washington Operations;
  • Vice Chair of the Board:  Lillian Z. Ryals, The MITRE Corporation;
  • Finance Chair:  Bill Gail, Microsoft.

The newly elected board members, serving a three-year term of 2011-2013 are:
  • Rachel Guill, Deputy Vice President of Product Support, Electronic Solutions, BAE Systems;
  • Cathy McCarthy, President and Chief Executive Officer, SM&A;
  • Annita Nerses, Ph.D., Director, CEO Operations, ITT Corporation;
  • Colleen Oresky, Vice President/Director of Innovative Technology Office, Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC);
  • Mina V. Samii, Ph.D., Vice President, Business Services Division, Science, Engineering and Technology Solutions, NPS - Civil and Health Services Group, Computer Sciences Corporation;
  • Jayne Schnaars, Vice President of Business Development for Space Exploration, The Boeing Company;
  • Peggy Slye, Chief Operating Officer and Director of the Space and Telecommunications Division, Futron Corporation.

"We are delighted to welcome these outstanding women to the WIA Board of Directors," said Cindy Malawy, Vice President Marketing, Boeing Defense, Space and Security, and current Chair of the WIA Board.  "They bring a wonderful mix of skills, abilities and accomplishments to our organization, and we know that WIA will be a stronger and better organization with their help."

The newly-elected directors join a solid and dedicated Board of Directors which includes: Katherine Chambers, Booz Allen Hamilton; Madhulika Guhathakurta, NASA; Patricia Hynes, Ph.D., New Mexico Space Grant Consortium; Suzanne Jenniches; Janet Karika, Jacobs Technology Inc.; William Klanke, Space News; Dianne Sosa, Lockheed Martin Corporation; John Tylko, Aurora Flight Sciences Corporation; Charlene Wheeless, Bechtel Corporation; and Daryle Lademan, BAE Systems.

The newly elected 2010 Officers are:
  • President:  Samantha Segall-Anderson, SAIC;
  • President-Elect:  Stephanie Schierholz, NASA;
  • Vice President of Programs: Stephanie Bednarek, SpaceX;
  • Vice President of Professional Development:  Sara Fuentes, ATK
  • Secretary: Sophia Kim, Northrop Grumman.

The newly-elected WIA officers join the solid foundation of those serving their two-year terms:  Vice President for Communications:  Daphne Dador, NASA;  Vice President for Membership: Militza Konova, The Avascent Group; and Treasurer: Madeline Close, Booz Allen Hamilton.

Women in Aerospace (WIA) is dedicated to expanding women's opportunities for leadership and increasing
their visibility in the aerospace community. Its membership - women and men - shares an interest
in a broad spectrum of aerospace issues including human space flight, aviation,
remote sensing, satellite communications, robotic space exploration,
and the policy issues surrounding these fields. 

To learn more, visit:


PDF Advisory (54 K)